Bad Design

This bad school design is one of my small assignments. It was surprisingly difficult to intentionally make something bad. I found out that a lot of the things that I do in an attempt to design something well are in fact habits developed over time rather than rules that are consciously applied. Doing the opposite of these habits was counter-intuitive, to say the least.

Everything in this design is as wrong as I could make it: the layout of the doors on the floor plan, the views I chose to show, the composition of the page and the sentence structure in the description. I tried to identify rules that I would normally follow, and then do the opposite.

Feedback is appreciated. Comment if you have a suggestion on how to make it worse.

 

This entry was posted in Exercises (for class credit). Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Bad Design

  1. dburdz says:

    This is pretty funny. But is your intent to have a bad design, or do EVERYTHING “wrong.” Maybe a different approach would be to use a GREAT building, and a terrible presentation for it. Or maybe the reverse, a terrible building that is very well represented. Obviously, bad design and bad work is, well….bad. But it provides the opportunity to really show the virtues of “good” design, or “good” representation.

Leave a comment